News & Events

As a Distinguished Speaker of the ACM, Prof. Obradovic will engage with emerging professionals, students and, in some cases, the public on a range of topics in computing.
Prof. Zoran Obradovic is a co-PI for an NSF Big Data Spoke, one of 10 funded by NSF to connect data scientists with regional challenges.
The CIS Department has invited four distinguished computer scientists/engineers to speak about important innovations and topics in computer and information sciences.
Jie Wu, Laura H. Carnell professor, gave a keynote speech titled "Collaborative Mobile Charging: From Abstraction to Solution" at IEEE/ACM IWQoS 2016 held recently in Beijing, China.
The CIS ACM-W is having its annual Successful Women in Technology panel, Wednesday, April 13, from 5-7 PM, in SERC 108.
We are pleased to be able to take 25 CIS students to the Philadelphia Women in Tech Summit on April 9, due to the generous scholarships provided by our corporate partners, PricewaterhouseCoopers, CapTech, Protivity and ARAMARK.
Two CIS corporate partners will be sponsoring scholarships for CIS students to attend the prestigious 2016 Grace Hopper Women in Computing Conference.
Pallavi Kottura, a junior Information Science and Technology major, and Jeremy Ninan and Brandon Segal, both junior Mechanical Engineering majors, are first place winners in the 5th Annual Temple University Federal Business Technology Case Competition.
Justin Shi is a General Chair of the 2016 IEEE International Conference on Dependable Autonomous Secured Computing (DASC-2016) that will take place in Aukland, New Zealand in August 2016.
On Thursday, November 19, the CIS department celebrated its 50th anniversary! One of the earliest departments to offer programs in information systems and computer science.   
Jie Wu, Chair and Laura H. Carnell Professor, has accepted additional responsibilities as the newly created position of Associate Vice Provost for International Affairs.
Avinash Srinivasan served as a Program Chair at the National Workshop on Resilience Resarch (NWRR) for Critical Infrastructure held in Washington D.C. Octobor 22-23. He also served as a panel moderator.
Karl Morris, Assistant Professor in CIS, participated in an outreach program at the Commonwealth Connections Academy, a free Pennsylvania Cyber-School.
Prof. Zoran Obradovic become an elected member of Academia Europaea (the Academy of Europe). His nomination was preceded by a rigorous review by class committees and the Council of the Academy.
Professors Jie Wu and Krishna Kant served as Symposium Chair and Program Chair, respectively, at the 3rd International Symposium on Resilient Communication Systems held in August 18-20, Philadelphia.